Getting stoned on the stream

No, I haven’t been engaging in illegal activities whilst livestreaming! But this week I did get stoned – soulstoned, that is – a bit more often than I’m accustomed to.

As I can be fond of saying, I have Even, and then I have 18 other toons with varying degrees of gimpiness. I can count on Even; her attitude is pretty much, “OK, I’m getting through this and so are you even if I have to carry you through and rez you on the other side.”

But for this past Sunday’s stream, I wasn’t on Even. Instead, I had level 7 Favored Soul Meren getting some much-needed third-life XP as Seki and I took our lowbies into Sorrowdusk.

For some reason that’s not an area I run very often, so I’m not that familiar with it. I kept thinking that at some point we were going to have to assemble parts of a turtle… in hindsight, I think that quest is actually in 3BC.

But I did correctly remember the bridges with the big scary traps. Miraculously I managed not to die in those despite my paltry 5 jump score (having exactly as many jump pots as I needed helped).

Unfortunately I did manage to get one-shotted several times by the mean, nasty, totally overpowered mobs. I mean, they killed me, so clearly they were overpowered, right? RIGHT?!

… OK, or maybe Meren’s just gimpy and a bit undergeared. Oops.

I think she ended up dying more often than Flower… kinda humiliating considering that Meren’s supposed to be a healery type, AND was the only one in the party who could rez. Seki got quite a workout running her stone back to the shrine!

Once we had the first leg of Sorrowdusk done, it was time for Seki to log. Several Twitch chatters suggested Tear of Dhakaan for Meren’s next effort.

She didn’t have the stats to get several of the shards, and her humiliation grew when Laerathor the hireling was able to pull the Wisdom rune she couldn’t get. Yes, Meren is dumber than a hireling, and now there’s video proof!

But she did get the completion, and was able to manage her spell points better than Laerathor managed his, despite her lower Wis score. And the evening yielded a goodly bit of XP – when she was done Tear, a few minutes in Searing Heights was enough to get her to level 8.

OurDDO is almost functioning at 100% again. I managed to fix a rather major cosmetic issue all by myself! Both HTML and CSS were involved, neither of which I’m overly proficient in.

There is still an issue with the feed aggregate script, which is a Google thing and waaaay over my head, not displaying any posts at all if certain blogs are included. Figuring out which blogs cause the issue is not difficult, but it’s long and tedious. If the site isn’t displaying your posts, I probably just haven’t gotten to verifying that your blog isn’t one of the ones the script doesn’t like; I’m adding the blogs back in one at a time and checking after each one to see if everything’s still working.

“Soon!*” ™

Streamin’ with Even is live every Sunday night at 11 pm Eastern time, now on the official DDOstream! The show will still be hosted on my own Twitch channel as well, but if you’re watching live and want to chat, DDOStream is the place to be. Videos are archived on my YouTube channel and/or on DDOStream’s YouTube. I’m usually on Thelanis, usually/often/sometimes on Evennote, and usually have room, so feel free to send me a tell if you’d like to join! I’m also definitely open to suggestions on what to run next. You can send ingame mail to Evennote on Thelanis, or email me at evennote (at) gmail dot com. Thanks for reading and/or watching!  🙂

7 thoughts on “Getting stoned on the stream

  1. House of Grouse

    The first few quests in Sorrowdusk I think I could run in the dark. However for some reason when I get to cult I seem to miss the quests as by that point I have done all the slayer I hate slaying for now reason. I prefer Flower over Laerathor, isn’t that terrible when you know which hirelings to use and which to avoid. Have fun, the gimps become a lot less gimpy when they get to their 6 and 7 lives.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Over our heads, but it sure feels nice – Even Now

  3. Pingback: Back to the Stone Age, reaper style – Even Now

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.