The Cursed Lag of Jack Jibbers

 

This past week’s livestream featured Slvr and I dashing off an epic elite Three-Barrel Cove/Sentinels saga to take advantage of the 30% guild renown boost weekend.

It’s probably the easiest epic saga to get through quickly on elite… under normal circumstances. Murphy’s luck being what it is, “normal” did not describe the circumstances we had.

First there was my crappy Internet, which normally gives me a “fair” connection with three bars. On bad nights, it’s two bars and “poor.” On really REALLY bad nights, it’s one bar and “low” or “poor.”

Last night, the signal bar actually disappeared several times. How I managed to stay connected to DDO, I have no idea. But I made it through the saga (sans Precious Cargo, which I thought I had ’cause it was marked on my spreadsheet, and Spies in the House, because I wasn’t in the mood to spend an hour trying to lag-jump through the blade traps) without a single disconnect.

Then there was my computer, which does not like it when I try to run anything else at the same time as DDO. So it’s really not happy on livestream nights when I have DDO, a browser window for  Twitch, and OBS all going at once. It protested, but managed to soldier on.

And then… there was the lag. If I’d been soloing, I’d’ve probably chalked it up to a combination of bad connection and unhappy computer. But Slvr was getting it just as badly as I was. In fact, we wondered if the livestream was going to consist of us standing at the gate to 3BC twiddling our thumbs waiting for the dialogue box to open so we could actually get in.

At last, get in we did, after what seemed like about half an hour spent dancing with the gate. Garl’s Tomb, Prove Your Worth, Ghost of a Chance, and of course, my old buddy Jack Jibbers in The Legend of Two-Toed Tobias. It took a while with all the lag, but FINALLY! we finished them all and headed off to House Deneith for the Sentinels of Stormreach chain.

And that’s where the video ends, because I decided I’d try to improve computer performance a bit by shutting down OBS and my Twitch browser window.

Streamin’ with Even is live every Sunday night at 11 pm Eastern time. I’m usually on Thelanis, usually on Evennote, and usually have room, so feel free to send me a tell if you’d like to join! I’m also definitely open to suggestions on what to run next. You can send ingame mail to Evennote on Thelanis, or email me at evennote (at) gmail dot com. Thanks for reading and/or watching!  🙂

3 thoughts on “The Cursed Lag of Jack Jibbers

  1. Kudos for running EE sagas, but you *do* know that HE saga runs give the same amount of guild XP as EE, right? So, hopefully you also ran HE sagas, too. Should be able to zerg through HE in no time (and no SitH in HE, either).
    😉

    {I managed to get six sagas (3xHE “Pirates” and 3xHH Gianthold, ‘cuz, you know, not subscriber that can unlock HE w/o running HH first) turned in on my little 1-man guild on Argo this weekend. Went from GL21 to GL24 – just a bit shy of GL25. Now, I have to go prep them (HE for all six, this time) again for the next guild bonus weekend.}
    😉

    Like

    1. lrdslvrhnd

      The HE runs can also be more easily soloed, whereas Gonari (and Maraga who did the Deneith part of the chain) are a leeeeetle squishy for EE without a meatshield around.

      And besides, zerging L7s on an L30 would be a rather boring livestream lol

      Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.