Another Ten Years


The 2.31 people who read this blog are probably familiar with my love of writing filks, or parody songs. Mostly my efforts have been funny, or at least were intended to be funny (whether I succeeded… yeah, jury’s still out on that one). There have been a couple of serious ones.

 

But I’ve never written a love filk. That is, until now.

 

The cosmetic pets, the Potions of Wonder, the hair dyes, the Valentine’s bouquet, the Clubs of the Holy Flame, the naked Shroud dances, the dragging of my gimps through sagas, and so, so much more…

 

I offer you “Another Ten Years,” set to “One Hundred Years” by Five for Fighting. (For the instrumental version I used, by Jewel KARAOKE, click here.) Lyrics follow, since the captions ARE. NOT. WORKING.  *grrrrr*

 

   Another Ten Years

I’m level 1 for a moment
Stuck on this beach, oi, no, I ain’t undead
Braving the cold
Finding my way ’round Korthos Island

I’m level 8 for a moment
Through Waterworks, kobolds gonna hate me
Next up, the Pit
I’m getting lost, enjoying the ride

DDO, good times with you
PuGs and friends and guildies true
DDO, would you ask the djinn to grant me one wish
For another ten years just as good as this

I’m level 12 for a moment
Now I’m VoN flagged, time to run my first raid
Getting snick-snack vorpaled
Killing still more minotaurs

I’m 16 for a moment
Defeated Tor, heading out to the Vale
To flag for Shroud
Can’t wait to make a Lit II longsword

DDO, good times with you
PuGs and friends and guildies true
Can’t wait to check out Eveningstar

DDO, I salute you
DDO, would you ask the djinn to grant me one wish
For another ten years just as good as this

Quests flash by on my screen
Now I’m banking 19
Inside Jeets’ dream
Epic quests still to come
Think of places I’ve been
I’m playing on

I’m epic capped for a moment
Looking back, what a journey
And I’m just dreaming
‘Til it’s time to TR and start anew

DDO, good times with you
Party wipes and rolls for loot
Dancing nekkid in the Shroud
Oh, the joy that I’ve found

DDO, oh oh ooh
DDO, oh oh ooh
DDO, oh oh oh, DDO

DDO, good times with you
PuGs and friends and guildies true
DDO, would you ask the djinn to grant me one wish
For another ten years just as good as this

 

DDO – the game, the players, the staff, and most of all my friends – this is for you. Just my own little homage to something that has had a tremendous impact on my life. A very few of you know some of the things I’ve struggled with over the years. (If you want to know, you can always ask; if I know you well enough, I might tell you.) It’s kind of ironic that some people, particularly non-gamers, think that my DDO habit means I have no life, when it is the amazing, wonderful, supportive friends I’ve made here who have helped me conquer my demons and start to really live.

 

I love you all, and I love this game. A very happy 10th anniversary to DDO, and a heartfelt wish for many more to come.

 

Note: I actually wanted to write an original song, but a) time constraints ’cause I wanted to have this published on the actual anniversary date (which I missed by a bit over an hour anyway, darn it), and b) I can’t find the cable for my MIDI keyboard, so it’s just a keyboard for now.

15 thoughts on “Another Ten Years

  1. Keavaa

    Even, while our paths cross less often than I’d like; its those few sparring hours here or there that on more than one occasion have lifted my spirits or brought a smile when I couldn’t muster my own. DDO has been a conduit for nice people to connect in a way that wouldn’t have happened otherwise.

    Like

  2. Pingback: DDOCast 420 – Spies in the House « DDOcast – A DDO Podcast!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.