To insanity and beyond

No, I’ve not fallen off the face of the earth. *g*

But I’ve kinda fallen off the face of WordPress and many other online places I (used to?) frequent. Real life can be pesky.

It started in October, when I got hit with a string of the most freakin’-est WORST migraines I’ve ever had. I get migraines on a regular basis, stemming from a concussion I got in an auto accident. But my usual ones last half an hour, maybe 45 minutes, and I only get them a few times a week. These new ones are WICKED. Neck pain worse than a toothache, ringing in my ears so bad it feels like my head is vibrating… and for more than three weeks the best it got was letting up for an hour or two at a time before kicking back in. Don’t know what caused them, don’t know what made them mostly stop, still get one every so often but at least it’s not constant any more.

So I started November by immediately falling behind the pace I wanted to maintain for National Novel Writing Month. Played catch-up for a bit, managed to get on track about two-thirds of the way through and then went into Super Amazing Word Churning Out Mode and ended up with more than 83K words, which netted me a personal best, my fourth straight NaNoWriMo win, and the trophy for the highest word count in my region.

Meanwhile our cat Minni (a totally mis-named 20-pound male) had been diagnosed with a heart condition that caused blood clots to form in his heart and get lodged near his hind legs. He was only five years old and had a couple of bad episodes during October and November, but had bounced back amazingly well… until we got up the Saturday before Christmas and found him lying in the sunroom unable to walk. The vet put him on new medication and gave him an IV, but this time was too much, and we lost him three days before Christmas.

That was MORE than hard enough to deal with, and we’re going to be dealing with it for a while – Minni was a very special little guy. Then Monday morning, four days ago, I got up and found Victoria, my 12-year-old best feline friend, was very lethargic and showing no interest in food at all. She’d been hungry as anything throughout the holidays, so I was hoping she’d just overindulged on turkey. The vet diagnosed a severe sinus infection. She’s prone to those, as she has chronic nasal allergies, but she’d shown no symptoms and her nose was still clear, so I was kind of wondering if the vet just came up with that because she’s had them so often… but by Tuesday morning her nose was completely clogged. She kept going downhill, to the point where I didn’t know if she’d make it through Tuesday night. She did, but barely, and the vet couldn’t see her until 11 am Wednesday morning; I just sat holding her and hoping she could hang on that long. Got her to the vet, where she got fluids and vitamins (she kept barfing up her antibiotic and was very dehydrated), and found out that my normally nine-pound cat had lost six-tenths of a pound in a day and a half.

I’ve been mostly holed up in the spare room (because it’s by far the warmest room upstairs) with her since Monday night. Haven’t even turned the computer on (thank heaven for the tablet) since I signed off DDO Sunday night, probably haven’t gotten eight hours of sleep in the past four nights combined, because she’s been in REALLY rough shape and I’ve been giving her fluids every hour, 24/7. For the past four days, she’s been throwing up, barely moving, barely breathing most of the time, and hasn’t been eating or drinking on her own. Several times I’ve picked her up and said my goodbyes because I didn’t see how she could last even a few more minutes… but this morning she got up, went to her dish, looked at me expectantly, and meowed… and though it wasn’t much, she ate some of the food I gave her. Then she ate a little plain yogurt and had a nice long drink from her water bowl. She just seemed to keep getting better and better throughout the day. I’d gotten her and Callie some cans of their favorite gourmet cat food for Christmas, and I gave her some of that about an hour or so ago… she devoured it and then curled up with me and started purring like crazy. I was going to spend the night in my own room and maybe even fire up the computer for a bit since she was feeling better, but she wants to be in here and she wants me with her. DDO can wait.

I fully intend to get back to blogging, and I’m definitely not abandoning OurDDO or Players Helping Players, just have a lot of other stuff that’s higher priority for me right now. Hopefully things will settle down in 2015!

7 thoughts on “To insanity and beyond

  1. ddolegend

    Even!!!

    Wow alot going on :(, sorry to hear about Minni, always hard losing an animal, maybe he can meet some of mine in a happy place! 😀

    Glad to hear Victoria is getting better!

    Congrats to on the Trophy! 😀

    Like

  2. Wow, Even sounds like a tough few months especially for the poor kitties :(. I hope Victoria continues to feel better. I have two older dogs, one older cat, and one younger cat and watching them go through health issues is always, always tough :(. Hang in there!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

