Photo album: Underdark

Underdark Yuan-Ti

There are some really amazing graphics in DDO, and – in no small part inspired by Gamer Geoff‘s postcards and MMOtivational posters along with Spencerian‘s tourist guides – I’ve often thought of putting together digital photo albums of some of my favorite places.

Underdark acid pool

It used to be that I’d crank up my graphic settings when I wanted to get screenshots, then crank them back down to cut back on lag when I was done. Thanks to a new video card, I now have my settings cranked higher than they’ve ever been cranked before at all times, and I’m amazed at just how freaking BEAUTIFUL this game is. You don’t really get the full impact when you’re just upping your graphics for a few minutes at a time; you have to be running around in permanent sliders-to-the-max mode to truly appreciate it.

Underdark Daycrystals

But enough words – this is a photo album, after all. (A photo album that I was too lazy to put into a slideshow. But whatever.) I’m starting with one of my favorite places in all DDO – The Underdark.

Underdark water elemental

The elemental cave is aptly named, as it’s full of earth, air, and water – you guessed it- elementals.

Underdark Purple Worm

See that innocuous-looking pile of dirt? Ever wondered what it would feel like to be digested?

Underdark Yuan-Ti

Remember those human-ish Yuan-Ti and their aversion to tourists? The lizard-ish ones aren’t any better… AND they have “petrifying” friends.

Underdark Bloodrock Medusa

Let your guard slip around this Bloodrock Medusa and you just might find yourself becoming a permanent fixture in Nessaleesa’s Garden.

Underdark Salamander Firebrand

Wishing you’d brought your winter jacket to ward against the Underdark’s chill? Just find some Salamander Firebrands to hang out with!

Underdark Ygglyshek

Go ahead, call him “Uglyshack” – it may be the last thing you ever do.

Underdark Drider

The itsy bitsy Drider climbed up the water spout… and took steroids, and moved to the Underdark, and grew to an enormous size, the better to eat you with.

Underdark Draegloth

Speaking of steroids, either the Draegloth have developed an incredibly effective weight-lifting routine, or they make heavy use of performance-enhancing substances… not that you should take the time to ask one.

Underdark Waterfall

There are several waterfalls in the Underdark, but if that’s your thing, you’re better off going to Niagara.

Underdark webs

It’s a good idea to smash all these cocoons so you won’t fall victim to a swarm of baby Driders, although Mommy and Daddy Drider will fall upon you as soon as you reach their nest.

Underdark Dimaya

Um. Interrupting Under-Priestess Dimaya’s ritual? You went there? Really? Yeah, good luck with that.

6 thoughts on “Photo album: Underdark

    1. My new screenshot method: I grab someone who can laugh in the face of a major beating (in epic content, that’s generally Acanthia; technically Jall could, but the sparklies from her radiant feet would get in the shot), because I’m not going to be able to self-heal while snapping away. Run around, find a place/monster/etc. I want a shot of, zoom aaaallllll the way in so I’m not in the frame, Alt-Z to remove the UI (and move the cursor into a far corner to keep the focus orb from popping up), and then start shooting, moving around as necessary… which sometimes leads to falling off of stuff because it’s much harder to tell just how close you are to the edge of that cliff. LOL

      I’ve got more of these planned for Storm Horns, High Road, King’s Forest, 3BC, Ataraxia, Vale, Orchard… probably also some quests. OOOOH! LIKE PIT! I could do a Pit album!

      Liked by 1 person

  1. That’s a blog post title of its own: “The Itsy Bitsy Drider!”

    Great pictures. You went far more extreme than I do with my stealth photography. Yours is more akin to a safari in hell. 🙂

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.