Beating the heat

 

Air conditioning is a wonderful thing.

Not that I’d know – I don’t have AC in this room. And with the heat wave that’s sweeping much of the country right now, I really, REALLY wish I did.

When I logged on ahead of my Sunday livestream, the temperature in here was 92 degrees. At 10:30 pm. By the time I finished the livestream, did a little PvP with Slvr and a Jibbers run with Citi and Keava, then a quick sell/repair, it was almost three hours later… and the room temp had climbed to 96 degrees (this computer throws off a LOT of heat).

My video card was none too happy about that. The fan started screaming at me about 10 seconds after I started the stream. I wasn’t too happy about it either. C’mon, that’s freakin’ HOT. And not in a good way.

So while pondering what to run for the livestream, it occurred to me that a nice underwater quest might be just the ticket. Unfortunately it didn’t cool ME down any, but Even stayed nice and comfy even in her heavy armor.

Normally I’d do all the optionals, but with both my video card and myself in serious danger of overheating, I chose the semi-easy route – invis to both side objectives and then again to the end fight. But I hate to pass up the chance to fight a big mean pit fiend, so we figured, as long as we were there, we might as well go smack him around.

Despite my frame rate barely or not at all into double digits most of the time, ’twas a fun run! Slvr pulled a Scroll of the Souleater early in the quest, and I had to tell him which item that was… and then I pulled a Souleater from EACH of the pit fiend’s two chests, one of which I passed to him because I probably have at least half a dozen scattered across various toons. The PvP is a story for another blog!

Streamin’ with Even is live every Sunday night at 11 pm Eastern time. I’m usually on Thelanis, usually on Evennote, and usually have room, so feel free to send me a tell if you’d like to join! I’m also definitely open to suggestions on what to run next. You can send ingame mail to Evennote on Thelanis, or email me at evennote (at) gmail dot com. Thanks for reading and/or watching!  🙂

One thought on “Beating the heat

Leave a Reply

