Real-life lagging

Getting

I’m really not lazy.

Well, OK, maybe I kinda am in some ways. But the lack of recent blog posts and the backlog of new blogs to be added to OurDDO have nothing to do with laziness and everything to do with a bum shoulder.

So I’ve been months in pain with no doctor (I don’t do doctors – until this happened, the last time I had a regular doctor was in 2005, and that was only because I’d been in a car accident).

I’m OK with typing for short periods of time (or typing left-handed). Clicking a mouse button once is uncomfortable, twice is painful, more than that is excruciating. I thought this was odd considering the problem is in my shoulder (actually, my new doctor thinks the shoulder problems are because of neck problems from that 2005 car accident – how about a rousing round of “The knee bone’s connected to the hip bone?”)… anyway, among other things that include a bone spur, rotator cuff tenditis, and an unusual amount of arthritis, there is apparently a nerve impinged somewhere between my fingers and my shoulder/neck area. So when I move my fingers, my shoulder hurts. When I use my shoulder muscles to move my upper arm, my fingers hurt. And my entire arm, from the fingers to the elbow up over the neck and down to the shoulder blade, is swollen (and so far no one seems quite sure just where all the swelling is coming from, or why it won’t go away).

This makes it hard to play DDO. I’ve barely played Even and about 3/4 of my other characters at all; the few I’m playing on a semi-regular basis are the ones who can be at least somewhat effective with little or no mouse clicking. As I’ve tried to explain to a couple of friends who’ve been all, “Just don’t click!” when I tell them I can’t run something with them, it’s not that easy. There’s the small matter of feeling pike-y if I’m not contributing up to par, and the (for me) much larger matter of clicking without thinking and ending up in serious pain. So I mostly solo or run with the guild, or run toons who can go on auto-attack and not need to do much more than tab around for targets. Or, I just hang out on the guild ship and take screenies of my bank bard in her mushroom cap.

This also makes it all but impossible to update OurDDO, because adding a new blog involves copy/pasting the blog address in several places, as well as making an icon and pasting THAT address. Clicking a mouse is difficult. Click-dragging, as one must do to copy/paste, is near torture.

For now I’m in physical therapy for the next few months and get to wear an oh-so-fashionable compression sleeve from wrist to shoulder all the time (I’m allowed to take it off to sleep and shower). I have two more doctor’s appointments (regular and orthopedic) in the next two weeks, and will likely be getting referred to a neurologist as well.

I’m debating E-mailing the OurDDO files to a suitably trustworthy person along with a list of blogs to add, then having them mail the updated files back so I can upload them, but that’s a lot to ask. We’ll see.

Just wanted to let everyone know that the new blogs – and I do have a fairly long list – will be added… hopefully someday soon!

6 thoughts on “Real-life lagging

  1. Ugh….Sorry to hear about the arm and shoulder pain Even. My wife has occasional shoulder and back pain from a pinched nerve and it isn’t any fun. I hope you feel better soon!!

    Like

  2. Grim, I will definitely take you up on that! I’ll try to get the stuff sent to you over the weekend. Thank you! 🙂

    And thanks for the well-wishes, guys. Seems like most of my blogs any more are about stupid RL crap. I need to get that sorted before people start thinking my priorities are screwed up. *g*

    Like

Leave a Reply

