Sister acts

Acanthia

I’ve always liked to think of my toons as one of a kind. Darn that Baz, though, going and shattering my illusions one snowy night in Eveningstar…

Baz: Bren! Have you seen the NPC at the end of the skating course?

Me: No, should I?

Baz: YES! Get out here! You have to see this!

Me: What the hell, I’m not having much luck farming coins anyway.

And there she was – Ayera Brightleaf. That probably doesn’t mean much to you… but check out Acanthia’s last name in the shot above (and many thanks to Baz for getting that shot for me, since I can’t see my own last name above my head). And she’s not even a halfling! What the heck?!

Tirae

I never gave Tirae a last name, but she’s far more of a sister to Acanthia than this Ayera chick. (Acanthia sez: “In my family, be halfling or begone.”) Acanthia’s been sporting an upgraded Spider-spun caparison for a while now. Tirae’s had one sitting in the bank, but it wasn’t upgraded for the Way of the Sun Soul set bonus. And she’d never equipped it, since it binds on equip, and she was kinda hoping to fork over all her plat and maybe some of her paltry supply of green steel ings if she found someone willing to upgrade it for her.

But she lucked out and found an upgraded caparison – the one with the Wisdom bonus, which is the one she wanted – on the AH for only 200K plat. That was enough to put a serious dent in Tirae’s funds but not bankrupt her, so buying it was a no-brainer. It makes her look very ninja-ish with her dark hair and complexion, although she’s a light monk. Naturally the only thing left to do was shuck off her Sun Soul vestments (nekkid monk! – well, for a few seconds), don the caparison, and get some screenies.

Tirae

It’s really hard to pick just a couple of shots out of the bazillions I took. Amrath seemed to be a fitting backdrop for Tirae’s new dark, sinister look, though.

Now I just need to get her flagged for ToD… *sigh* She’s only got New Invasion so far.

Tirae

Shenlie, though human, is kind of an honorary sister to Acanthia and Tirae, mostly because, well, they’ll all my toons, and so they’re all kinda connected if not actually related. As she’s sporting a new look with some long, pretty hair Comic passed to me from a lottery win, I thought it was worth throwing in a shot of her as well.

I need to find her better armor, although what she’s wearing – the starter leather armor – is a GREAT look for a druid… which is what she is.

Shenlie

Meanwhile Even is moping because last night she was going to get her first shot at tanking Horoth on elite. She’s tanked him on hard, and tanked Sully on elite, but so far no elite Horoth. Her party had just stepped into Nytherios’ room when boom boom, out went the lights – we had a snowstorm last night, and the power decided to go out right in the middle of ToD.

By the time it came back on and I got her back into DDO, the ToD group had long since disbanded, although when I sent the leader a tell to explain and apologize, he asked if I wanted to run Abbot… OK, what he actually said was, “If you don’t get your ass to Abbot, I’m going to drag you in here.”

Even’s not Abbot-flagged (there’s really nothing from that raid I want for her), so I got Acanthia, who got her first shot at tiles… and fell into a gaping chasm to her death because when her partner said, “OK, now run four,” I didn’t realize she needed to jump and Abundant Step to make it the rest of the way across. But we had a couple of people do a brilliant job, including the guy who ended up blind-running tiles and the folks who got around eight of us rezzed once the puzzles were done, and we got the completion.

That was my first Abbot in prolly a month or two; the last time I ran one, I was in roids and kept hitting R instead of T, thereby running off the platform to my death… four times. Nice to have gotten back on that bike and made it through one!

5 thoughts on “Sister acts

  1. legendkilleroll

    Hehe, your toons are looking good 🙂

    That was a steal from the AH, very nice find

    I wanna flag for ToD too, only got pack few weeks ago

    Like

  2. BOgre

    I like to think that the Devs took notice of you or your play or your integrity and decided to give you a nod in an understated but significant way. Brightleaf imortalized.

    Like

  3. LrdSlvrhnd

    Y’know, “Ayera” and “Acanthia” are even “cutesy sister names” from parents trying to be special.

    Also, Ayera is clearly adopted, you can tell from the “Why didn’t my parents love me!” look on her face.

    Like

Leave a Reply

