Bear necessities

Evennote

Dear DDO,

Please stop making lovable creature companions, because I’m afraid I’m going to sign on some night and have my friends pull me into an intervention cleverly disguised as an elite CitW.

Yesterday, I had 19 pets. NINETEEN! That’s seven more than a 12-step program could help with. But did you do the responsible thing and set up a Pet-A-Holic support group, complete with toll-free number? Noooo, you had to go and dangle a new – and especially cute – polar bear cub in front of me.

Acanthia

I tried to resist – well, OK, I didn’t really try all that hard. My “resisting” amounted to a few minutes of, “Gee, do I really want to shell out 95 TP for skates?” And it turned out that, yes. Yes, I did. Twice, in fact – one pair for Acanthia and a second pair for Tirae. (Actually, the skating is so much fun, it’s kinda worth the 95 TP even if you DON’T want a polar bear.)

I couldn’t help it. Despite the long list of things I wanted to accomplish – farm commendations on Even, Jall and Vic; work on getting Shroud mats for Tirae; level up Dissy; give my poor neglected lowbies some playing time – I found myself dashing through my allotted four skating runs each day (well, eight, since I did four on Thelanis and four on Cannith) and then spending an inordinate amount of time jumping off the Harbormaster’s house (I probably owe Zin some shingles) or fighting waves of respawning fire reavers in Lords of Dust.

Sadly, I suck at getting coins. Not sure why; last year Acanthia was raking ’em in by jumping from the roof of the Leaky Dinghy, but for some reason that’s not working as well for me this year. Luckily for me, Baz RAWKS at getting coins and is also incredibly generous, so it really didn’t take long to amass 10,000 motes and turn them in for Snowball, my new polar bear cub.

Evennote

So instead of trying to break my bad habits and cut back on my pet addiction, I’ve added to it instead. Why, DDO, why? Is it not enough for you that Jall and Chalei can’t seem to stay away from mana pots, or that Acanthia is irresistibly drawn to Potions of Wonder, or that Dissy can’t control her urges to keep buying more hair dye to change her look? Must I also be fated to having more furry friends than a neko at a Second Life convention?

Please, DDO, take responsibility for those of us who are too weak to resist these utterly adorable companions. (Hey, maybe that’s why I can’t resist them, it’s the adorableness, ’cause nobody’s ever gonna call ME adorable. Yanno?)

Love,
Evennote

Evennote

P.S. – Please make scorpion, beholder, mephit, air elemental, fire elemental and ooze pets. I promise I shall shower them with all the hugs and exclamation points I’m unworthy of receiving myself.

P.P.S. – Please put the bear tricks back in the store. Snowball has to dance alone because Tiguak doesn’t have the dance trick. This makes him a sad panda – OOOOH! We need PANDA companions!

8 thoughts on “Bear necessities

  1. pokeoutyoureardrums

    Hehehe, righteous shots and entertaining writing. I enjoyed this muchly.

    P.s. not surprising that a girl plays, met my ex on an MMO.

    Like

  2. krissonofpark

    Unfortunately the only DDO bear I have, is my Druid and she keeps been a wolf for some reason.
    May now have to change my mind about doing the ice games and some how become good, rather than utterly rubbish at them.
    And a great big aww! for the last picture ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  3. legendkilleroll

    I never have my pets out, i love them in real life maybe i dont want to put them in danger ๐Ÿ™‚

    Skating was fun, hmm, i did two races and was pretty bored ๐Ÿ˜ฆ dont think i would be able to collect all those motes

    Nice blog and congrats on the cub adorable Evennote ๐Ÿ˜›

    Like

  4. Mizzaroo

    Oh you are adorable! I’m sure of it! I wish I could have a polar bear cup pet ๐Ÿ˜ฆ
    Poor cryptosporidium is still missing in action. Turbine wouldn’t respond to my ticket about him ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

    Like

  5. Spencerian

    No! We can’t have pandas! I spend enough time in the game already. If my wife hears that she can have a panda, we’ll game ourselves into the poorhouse!

    Like

Leave a Reply

