The cake is NOT a lie!

Victaurya

Has it really been two years since I created a DDO account and rolled up Vic? The calendar tells me that yes, yes it has.

I spent the afternoon doing something mostly non-DDO, though – I attended the TGIO (Thank God It’s Over) celebratory luncheon held by the Williamsport chapter of National Novel Writing Month. Everyone who participated got a certificate; winners also got a ribbon, and the three top finishers got to choose from one of three books on writing. I finished second and kinda wish I’d re-validated my word count, ’cause I’d’ve won – my validated word count on Nov. 25 was 61,600. I’m up over 80K now, and the winner was around 70K. But luckily the woman who won first place didn’t take the book I wanted. Β *g*

There was pizza! There were cookies! And yes, there was cake – which, when brought out, prompted several of us to exclaim in unison, “The cake is NOT a lie!”

So in a bit here I’m going to log Vic in and give her some playing time for her birthday. That’ll be a better gift than she got on the forums. A few days ago I stumbled across a thread asking for clarification on whether some advice the poster had gotten was helpful or elitist. The OP had seen someone ridiculed after asking for advice on their build.

I replied to the thread with the (kinda) short version of Vic’s biography, noting that despite her innate gimp-ness (having followed the default thief acrobat path until around level 9 and never LRed, GRed, TRed or otherwise reincarnated), she’s doing just fine in endgame content and hasn’t failed a disable or open lock check since I-don’t-know-when.

Victaurya

Boy, was I surprised when I checked the thread again and found that Vic is a piker because she “doesn’t contribute anything to the fight” – at least according to another poster. No rogue should EVER fail a DD or lock check, according to him. Hey, she’s lvl 22 and can get epic elite traps – I’ve seen lvl 25 capped legend builds blow up trapboxes. Oh, and she’s also piking because of her 28-point build and 450 HP (that’s with no party buffs or +2 Con shrine, nor does she have ANY commendations gear yet).

So I tried to be nice but got just a bit snarky in telling him that, believe it or not, Vic doesn’t just do traps and locks; she generally gets in her share of kills with her trusty repeater, and she has a high enough UMD to buff/spot heal with wands/scrolls/etc. (Hey, she healed elite Acid Wit when she was lvl 14! Β *g*) It’s not like she’s standing around with her thumb up her butt if there are no traps or locks, y’know?

His response? He posted a video of his Favored Soul soloing EE House of Rusted Blades and told me to post a similar video to prove Vic isn’t a piker.

I’m tempted – OH, how I’m tempted. But even aside from the fact that I haven’t booted up Xfire in weeks because it’s been glitchy as hell and the quality takes a nosedive when I import it into my video editor, I’m not going to respond. He’s a troll, plain and simple, and I’m not going to feed him. The video clip is a pretty plain attempt to show off; all a response would do is keep giving him an audience.

Victaurya

Luckily most egolitists make it clear in their LFMs that they’re, well, egolitists. I stay away from groups that have descriptions like, “Be uber,” “Have at least ### HP,” “KNOW IT,” and for the most part, “BYOH” (especially since I see so many BYOH LFMs that are open only to clerics and Favored Souls)… and of course, on Thelanis, I never, EVER hit those “STRONGS ONLY, R U CAT?” LFMs (if you’re NOT on Thelanis, you probably have no idea what I’m talking about).

Mr. Egolitist can think whatever he wants of Vic; the only thing he seems to think highly of is himself. I’m proud of Vic because – despite that 28-point build and 450 HP – she does exactly what I want her to do, which contributes a lot more to a party than an ego.

11 thoughts on “The cake is NOT a lie!

  1. redcastle73a

    Yay for common sense. You play your toons any way you like and be happy. If you ever struggle to fill a group I know this tiny little guild called Juggalo Island that has some nice peeps in it. Definitely not uber or elitist I can guarantee it.

    And of course congratulations on 2nd place πŸ™‚

    Like

  2. legendkilleroll

    Congrats πŸ™‚

    Your my type of player, i actually saw that thread yesterday, read your posts i just dont bother with people like that.

    Few more as they make me laugh “have a clue” “be useful” yesterday i saw “boot on death”

    Like

  3. geoffhanna

    A build that is designed to solo EE quests is less useful in a party than one that is designed to contribute to a group.

    The other guy may not be a piker but he’s only slightly more useful and I’d rather not have either of them in my group.

    Like

  4. CheaterJoe

    Yay on the DDOduoversary! I’ve been playing that long too, about. And good job on not letting the idjits of the world spoil your fun!!! Fun is prescious (mmmm, my prescious) and not to be shared with jerks. Huzzah!!

    Like

  5. vms4ever

    DDO is, like pnp D&D, for fun. Which is why I endorse gimped toons and why Stanli is a halfling 2-Handed barbarian instead of the “proper” half-orc build. Egolitist is the proper term.

    I still maintain that ANY toon can be proven to be a “gimp”.

    Like

  6. BOgre

    Gratz on the 2nd place and Gratz on the 2nd anniversary. Mine’s up in exactly 4 weeks πŸ™‚
    As for that thread and the tool, you already know my thoughts. I’d still be a soulstone somewhere in the marketplace if it wasn’t for Even’s help. And Jall’s. And Vic’s. You know….
    Rock on.

    Like

Leave a Reply

