Decisions, decisions…

Photobucket

If I strain my Swiss cheese memory, I can still recall Victaurya the noob rogue running around Korthos brandishing her ember rapier, wiping out sahuagin and thinking that getting the second half of the Troubleshooter’s Set was about the best thing she could ever hope for.

Now she’s running around in 25% striders (with a set of Cannith Boots of Propulsion banked) and a +5 Health Necklace of Bluffing while toting a green steel heavy repeater. Granted, it’s just a blank repeater – she has yet to get her first Shard of Power so she can put at least the first tier on it – but it beats her other repeaters for damage done.

But now… what to put on her repeater once she gets that shard? I could use some advice here. Vic is a lvl 14 trapmonkey. She’s a bit squishy, although Improved Evasion helps make up for her lack of HP. As a trapmonkey, while dealing out damage is always nice, it’s not her primary function – plus she’s not going to be doing much damage if she’s dead. So I’m kind of thinking that instead of the Lit II repeater I was originally planning on, a better choice for her would be +1 AC (Insight Bonus), Exceptional Constitution +1, Aspect of Positive Energy (Raise Dead), 30% Healing Amp, Aspect of Positive Energy II (Greater Disruption)… or even dropping the +1 AC and Excep Con to take all three tiers of healing amp since it stacks.

This would be so much easier if you could put healing amp on a clothing or jewelry item – why, oh why, is it only on weapons? Vic rarely uses anything other than her GS repeater, but most of my other toons switch out a lot depending on the situation – heck, Acanthia has about 20 sets of handwraps (and why, oh why, is there no way to make green steel handwraps?).

Then again, since Vic is going to be at the low end of the HP totem pole anyway, does she really need healing amp THAT badly? After all, evasion is going to help her take a lot less damage, and a Cure Crit hitting her is going to restore a nice chunk of her health – 32-52 HP, which doesn’t mean much to a pally in DoS stance but makes a big difference to Vic’s (currently fully buffed not including Rage) 192 HP. She’s run Coal Chamber, Sleeping Dust and Rainbow this past week, all lvl 16 quests, and the biggest threat to her squishy lvl 14 self is getting hit with something that does 250+ damage. No amount of healing amp is gonna help her with THAT. Excep Con, on the other hand, might mean the difference between being barely alive or incap, or being a soulstone. I’d love to hear what other people think would work well on her repeater, and why.

Now back to Acanthia and all those handwraps… if there’s ever a DDO version of “Hoarders,” my over-equipped li’l monk is a prime candidate. She just picked up Oremi’s Ring (she’s had Oremi’s Necklace, Nyoko’s Necklace and Shintao Cord for AGES, but this is her first completed ToD set). Now to decide what to put on it – Pure Good? Healing Amp? Exceptional Something? She’s a light monk and already has a pretty good selection of PG wraps, but putting PG on the ring would effectively make ALL her wraps, along with her Dream Edges, Pure Good. But Healing Amp would be a huge asset to her 500-ish HP. I’m mostly leaning away from adding an Exceptional stat because her stats are already pretty good, and I think PG or Healing Amp would be more useful… but I can’t completely forget about how valuable a +2 stacking bonus to a key stat would be.

Photobucket

And then… there’s Jalliria. Poor, gimped Jalliria. I used my last Lesser Heart of Wood to lesser reincarnate her because she seemed rather under-powered, HP- and SP-wise, compared to the capped clerics Even and Acanthia ran with. Overall the LR was a big improvement, didn’t quite hit the HP or SP goals I was shooting for (well, she can hit the HP one with really good buffs) but got really, REALLY close… I just made one mistake.

But it’s a big one. My infamous two and a half regular readers might remember a post I made about not realizing I’d taken the Quicken feat with Jall. Well, I’ve learned the hard way that LRing a toon when it’s 4:30 am and you’re nodding over your keyboard is not a good idea. Somehow I managed to take Empower Spell – which is not something Jall has EVER used – instead of Quicken, and didn’t realize what had happened until the next day when it was far too late to change it.

Alas, among the many things I don’t remember is ever using Jall’s free feat swap. But apparently I have, because Fred wants 80,000 plat and a flawless Siberys shard – neither of which I have – to let her drop Empower Spell and replace it with Quicken. And boy, does she NEED Quicken. I’ve started doing some ToD flagging with her, and no WAY can she solo heal those runs. At lvl 20, she SHOULD be able to. It is about 50% because she can’t throw out cures and heals fast enough, and 50% my own shortcomings – I love playing a healer but it just doesn’t come as naturally to me as being a melee. It doesn’t help that not playing Jall as much as my melee toons along with her recent LR, I’m STILL getting used to what’s where on her hotbars.

Another dilemma I have with Jall is when to use spells and when to use scrolls or wands. I saw a thread on the forums not long ago where a bunch of people got rather strident in stating that healers should be using scrolls almost exclusively. Wow, really? Because Jall RARELY uses them. I don’t mind sucking down a blue pot or two if that’s what it takes to get through a tough quest. I don’t like switching to scrolls – or wands, for that matter – for a couple of reasons: first, in the heat of battle, it’s easy to either click the wrong one or just forget to switch back entirely. Dissy does use wands and I have to be careful with them; I can’t tell you how many times I’ve pointed her Cacophonic Verge at a party mate who needed a heal, or pointed a Wand of Cure Critical at a mob when I thought I was using a wand of Phantasmal Killer.

Second, Jall’s usually wielding stuff that gives her Superior Devotion, Greater Healing Lore, etc. Unequipping those weapons to pick up a scroll or wand means she’s not doing as much healing as she could. After reading that thread about scroll healing, my insecurities got the best of me for a while and I started thinking I must be doing everything wrong… but then I thought about it and, for me at least, it seems that the best choice for Jall is to stick mostly to spells. I keep her stocked with enough pots to get through at least three or four quests, plus she’s got Lorrik’s Necklace and con-op goggles. Just to be safe, she does have a small but useful supply of scrolls and wands as well.

But the biggest question I have with Jall is whether I should keep running her gimpy self and try to get her some high-level cleric gear (Torc, DT armor, ToD stuff, etc.), or whether I should just TR her now and work on that stuff when she levels back up. I have more than enough tokens for her TR, so that’s not an issue… to TR or not to TR? Just one more decision I’m having a lot of trouble making.

3 thoughts on “Decisions, decisions…

  1. ComicRelief

    …or just combine all those dragonshard fragments until you get a flawless one.
    …or go buy a flawless one from the AH.
    …or, if you haven’t already (but you probably have), get some Agents of Arognessen favor and choose the flawless one.
    …or go around the game begging complete strangers “can I haz your flawless shard, pleaze?”
    …or beg from guildies – might work better.
    …or go but another LHoW from the DDO store.
    …or wait for another MyDDO lottery win.

    Hmmm…guess that’s all the other alteratives I can come up with (for now, anyway).
    😉

    Like

  2. Evennote

    … wow. LOL

    I’ve been crunching fragments since I started playing, still only have enough for about 2/3 of a flawless.
    I can BARELY swing the 80K, how do you think I’d be able to afford a flawless on the AH?
    Got the Argo favor, took the collapsed portable hole.
    I don’t beg.
    I don’t beg.
    Why spend TP – see below.
    I might win another LHoW from the lottery.

    Anyway, that’s all null and void, was running with a friend the other night and swapped ToD boot ings for the flawless and 80K, so Jall has Quicken back and had a lovely time duo-healing a noob-friendly Shroud last night! o/

    Like

Leave a Reply

