Where the heck AM I?

Photobucket

Right at this particular moment, where I’m NOT is on DDO. Update 11 and my computer do not like each other, no way, no how. The first few times I tried to boot up DDO, I got stuck on “updating” and eventually had to reboot the computer. After several tries, I started getting an error message telling me something about how DDO either wasn’t designed to run under Windows or was a corrupt file. So I turned to the forums and found that people are having all sorts of problems. Best advice I could find was to uninstall the game, download it and then re-install it.

Well, yippee. What a pain! It took quite a while to download on my Comcraptastic connection. Now it seems to be taking forever to install. I’ve been at it for nearly FOUR HOURS what with reboots and all. Installation right now is about 2/3 done. Here’s hoping it works!

Most nights, of course, where I am is on DDO. But WHERE on DDO I am – half the time I don’t know. I have NO virtual sense of direction. Give me a simple dungeon and tell me, “You can’t possibly get lost,” and trust me, I’ll find a way to get so lost I have a hard time getting found again.

Even was still 53 points shy of unlocking Favored Soul when I logged in last night (you know, last night when DDO ACTUALLY BOOTED FOR ME Ā *grrr-face*), so after a ToD wipe, an awesome Shroud and a fun though Muck’s Doom-less Pit run with a guildie (a very generous and awesomesauce guildie who gave Even the last few ingredients she needed to upgrade her green steel greatsword to Tier 3!), I pulled up her adventure compendium. She still needs The Tide Turns to finish out the Sentinels of Stormreach arc, but I got – guess what – hopelessly lost a few nights ago when I tried to solo it and my Pit-running guildie wasn’t flagged, so I moved on to Necro 2.

Started with Tomb of the Shadow Knight and – you guessed it – got lost. Well, maybe “lost” isn’t the right word; I basically knew where I was on the map and where I needed to go, but it turned out I missed a hidden chest that had a key in it, and I ran around for two hours trying to figure out how to get through a locked door. DUH.

By then another guildie joined me and we moved on to Tomb of the Shadow Guard. I thought he knew where he was going – turned out he didn’t have much more of an idea on that than I did. We swam around for a while, often in circles; he even recalled and came back in so he could try again from the start since we were both only after favor and not XP. That didn’t help, so I finally put up an LFM and got two very awesome, not to mention very PATIENT, people who got us through Shadow Guard and then through the other two flagging quests in the arc, which put Even at 2507 total favor and got me Favored Soul on Thelanis, which I intend to check out ONCE I CAN LOG INTO THE FREAKING GAME AGAIN! (Turbine, I love you, but GEEZ!)

I’m not sure why I have such a hard time finding my way around in DDO. It took me three or four tries before I could get through A Small Problem when I first got the Phiarlan Carnival pack. I ran around Sands for a good hour and a half looking for the entrance to Chains of Flame – I could SEE the little yellow blinking door on the map and even stand right on top of it, but I couldn’t figure out how to get up on top of the mountain to the actual quest entrance and finally had to get a guildie to lead me there. And don’t even get me started on Vale. If not for awesome friends and guildies, I’d probably still only have five or six explorers.

Maybe it’s got something to do with my real-life navigational issues. I used to be pretty good at getting from Point A to Point B, even with less-than-stellar directions. Then I got a concussion in a car accident in 2005. Messed up my short-term memory a bit, and now I have a much harder time figuring out where I’m going. My brother lives about 10 miles from me. I’ve driven to his house probably hundreds of times and did so automatically. Now at least once or twice each trip, I have to stop and actually THINK about where I’m going. I’ve passed the right exit a few times and had to double back, and there have been times I’ve looked around and wondered if I’d made a wrong turn because I wasn’t sure where I was.

Anyway. Wasn’t going to bring this up on my blog, but since people I’ve never even spoken to sent me tells last night asking about it – I’ll just try to be non-specific and not add to any potential drama. Even and Acanthia are staying in Monty’s (and my other Thelanis toons are staying in Emerald Dragons). I feel extremely lucky to be part of not one, but two GREAT Thelanis guilds (plus a very awesome Cannith guild!). For those very good friends of mine who have gone elsewhere, I truly wish you the best and sincerely hope we’ll still be running together often. I’ve had ZERO problems with anyone on either side of recent events and I’d like to keep it that way. Many of you have helped me out tremendously with advice, gear, ingredients and so on. Even more than that, you’ve helped me with ME. Until very recently, I thought of myself as a pretty poor player. Especially in groups, my focus was mostly on keeping up and not screwing up rather than enjoying the run and seeing how well I could do – after all, most of what I learned for the first five or six months when I was starting this game came from someone who told me what to do and when to do it, made sure to point out if I deviated from his plan, seemed surprised whenever I actually did something right, and was more than a bit pissed off when Even levelled past him. To have people tell me they WANT to group with me and WANT me in their guild means more than some typed words on a blog can ever express and, believe it or not, has made a positive difference in my real-life confidence level as well.

DDO has booted! I’m off to check mail and auctions, then see how quickly I can get my about-t0-be-rolled-up Favored Soul/Monk build hopelessly lost. Ā šŸ˜€

8 thoughts on “Where the heck AM I?

  1. ComicRelief

    Well, if it makes you feel any better, Shin was having problems downloading at home too – took him 4 hours (I think that’s what he said).

    And my, oh my – I think there was nothing but Arties running around Korthos today (except me, of course)…LOL
    šŸ˜‰

    Like

  2. geoffhanna

    I downloaded once in the morning from my NC workstation, went fine, and then again yesterday evening on my VA laptop.

    Went fine.

    Usually I am the one with all the SNAFU but this time, hey, no problems! Who’d a thunk it?

    Like

  3. LrdSlvrhnd

    Gawd, and I just realized… my PC, I don’t think has had DDO updated since… May? That’s at least 2 full updates, plus 10.1 & 10.2, and possibly a 9.X or two…

    Like

  4. tyger_katt

    I get lost, a lot, too and I don’t even have a valid excuse, considering my real life navigational skills are very good. So, you’re not alone in that regard. Getting lost has its advantages too, you find secrets and things no one else know about, by accident. šŸ™‚ And well done on being asked to join guilds – you’re obviously doing it right. šŸ™‚ I would fall off my chair if that happened to me.

    Like

  5. LrdSlvrhnd

    I only ever get asked to join a guild at the beginning of a quest. Y’know, before we’ve even entered? Waiting for a Chrono run to fill up… “Hey wanna join my guild?”

    Oddly, I never get asked to join *after* the quest…

    Like

Leave a Reply

