Sticks and stones…

I try to keep up with other DDO blogs as time permits. They’re a mixed bag, but so many of them offer useful game info or great reads or both, it’s well worth the effort.

So I’m skimming through and I come across one that I think is really a great post: well-written, informative… but there’s something that just doesn’t seem quite right about it.

Now I’m no word snob. I enjoy plenty of blogs that have misspelled words or use grammar incorrectly or don’t have proper punctuation. You can be an effective writer without getting that stuff right – that’s what editors are for in the real world, and having been a newspaper editor for many years, I should know. Some of the best writers I worked with were also some of the worst when it came to spelling, grammar and punctuation.

But this post I was reading was nearly flawless, and the writer used quite a few obscure words and phrases correctly. And then… he/she used the term “per say.”

There were one or two other things that seemed a little inconsistent but that I put down to writing on the fly and not checking. “Per say,” though… for some reason that just sent up a red flag in the editor part of my brain, which knows that the correct spelling is “per se.”

Maybe if there hadn’t been one or two other minor things out of place – misplaced commas, stuff like that – I wouldn’t have thought twice about the misspelling of “per say.” But something about that got to me, so I reread the post and noticed that there was a definite change in writing style from one paragraph to the next.

Now this bugged me. I highlighted a chunk of text and copy/pasted it into Google… and there it was pretty much verbatim on another site.

So I did the same with another passage – same result. Word-for-word from another site.

I’m not going to name names. A blog isn’t a news source where it’s important to be completely original and truthful. However, it does bother me that someone would use material from other sources verbatim, not even rewrite it a bit to try to make something semi-original out of it, and pass it off as their own work. I’m not even going to open the can of worms known as “intellectual property;” that’s way too big for one little blog post.

Give me the misspelled, poorly-punctuated, grammatically incorrect postings any day… at least I know they’re not stolen.

2 thoughts on “Sticks and stones…

  1. ComicRelief

    Or at least give credit where it’s due. Plagiarism sucks. If you don’t know where it came from, but it’s not from you, then at least give it an “unknown” credit.

    BTW – the #1 grammatical error in English? Over use of commas. #2? Under use of commas.
    šŸ˜‰

    Like

Leave a Reply

